Please note: This archive was last updated in 2005.

RHO archives : RH Resources

Award Nominations

Updated August 23, 2005

Health and Population Innovation Fellowship
The Population Council of New Delhi is offering this fellowship to mid-career individuals in India who have innovative ideas and leadership potential in the areas of reproductive health and rights. The fellowship gives particular priority to themes of maternal mortality and morbidity and the sexual and reproductive health and rights of young people. Example themes include promoting young people’s sexual and reproductive health and choice; making pregnancy safer; addressing the needs of women experiencing unintended pregnancy or seeking abortion; addressing unmet need for contraception and dual protection; improving the quality of reproductive health services; strengthening men’s involvement and responsibility in sexual and reproductive matters; developing models to improve dialogue between diverse groups, including women’s groups, health care providers, and policymakers; and advocating for changes needed in health, educational, and legal policies relating to sexual and reproductive health and rights. Deadline: September 15, 2005.
For more information, please contact:
Komal Saxena, Population Council, India Habitat Centre, Zone 5A, Ground Floor, Lodi Road, New Delhi 110 003 India
Telephone: +91 11 24642901; Fax: +91 11 24642903; Email: [email protected]

African Women's Development Fund—Main Grants Program
The African Women’s Development Fund (AWDF) funds local, national, subregional and regional organizations in Africa working towards women’s empowerment. The AWDF is an institutional capacity-building and program-development fund, which aims to help build a culture of learning and partnerships within the African women’s movement. In addition to awarding grants, the AWDF attempts to strengthen the organizational capacities of its grantees. The AWDF funds work in five thematic areas: women’s human rights; political participation; peace building; health, reproductive rights, and HIV/AIDS; and economic empowerment. Organizations can apply for grants ranging from US$1,000- $25,000. Grants over $20,000 are only made to organizations which operate on a regional basis. The AWDF makes grants in two cycles each year. Applications can be sent in at any time.
For more information, please contact:
African Women’s Development Fund (AWDF), Aviation House, Aviation Road, PMB CT89 Cantonments, Accra, Ghana
Telephone: +233 21 780477; Fax: +233 21 782 502; Email: [email protected]

The AIDS Support Organisation (TASO) Experiential Scholarship
The TASO Experiential Attachment to Combat HIV/AIDS (TEACH) Project is offering 80 full and partial scholarships on a rolling deadline to organizations and individuals that have interest in HIV/AIDS care and support work and would like to learn from TASO's experience. Applications are welcome from public and private-sector applicants; those from small and resource-poor organizations from developing countries will be given priority for the full scholarship, while those from more resourced organizations will be considered for a partial scholarship. Applicants should have at least one year of practical experience in HIV/AIDS prevention, care, support, and impact mitigation or policy- and advocacy-related work.
For more information, please contact:
Winnie Kyaligonza, Project Coordinator, TEACH Project, TASO (U) Ltd, P.O. Box 10443, Kampala , Uganda
Telephone: +256 41 532580; Fax: +256 41 541 288; Email: [email protected]

Award for Best Practices in Global Health
The Award for Best Practices in Global Health was established to honor individuals and organizations making significant contributions to the field. In addition to showcasing a specific program, this annual award celebrates the thousands of people working in the field to promote health equity for all. A US$1,000 stipend is awarded annually to allow its recipient a small measure of freedom to pursue their work.
For more information or to submit a nomination, visit the Global Health Councils website ( or contact:
Carrie Peterson, Conference Program Assistant, Global Health Council, 20 Palmer Court, White River Junction, VT 05001 USA
Telephone: (802) 649-1340 ext. 2142; Fax (802) 649-1396; Email: [email protected]

Gates Award for Global Health
Established in 2000 by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, this annual award seeks to recognize an organization "that has made a major and lasting contribution to the field of global health." Administered by the Global Health Council, the award comes with a $1 million honorarium. Nominations may be submitted by anyone from any country. In submitting nominations, emphasis should be placed on an organization's development of "processes for improving health, especially in resource poor settings, with measurable results." Applications should include a brief history of how the organization has made a sustained and widespread contribution in the field of global health.
For more information or to submit a nomination, visit the Global Health Councils website ( or contact the council at [email protected] or 802-649-1340.

Jonathan Mann Award for Global Health and Human Rights
This award has been established by Association François-Xavier Bagnoud, Doctors of the World, and the Global Health Council, and is presented annually to a leading practitioner in health and human rights, be it an individual or organization. The award is intended to be a substantial cash prize, to allow its recipients a measure of freedom to pursue their work in this important area.
For more information or to submit a nomination, visit the Global Health Councils website( or contact Terry Fisher, award program assistant at [email protected] or 802-649-1340.

Top of page